Daffodil Jealousy

I was sitting on a chair beside my window when a swallow sat upon my flower pot. The swallow had a yellow flower petal between it’s beak. I wondered where it came from. The swallow turned towards me and like magic I started seeing images that did not belong to my memory… I was seeing blurry and hearing things in echoes…

“I was in a garden full of flowers, from African Daisies to Yellow Bells… but only one type of flower attracted my attention. What was it called? It’s in the tip of my beak… it’s, it’s called a daffodil! Yes those extraordinary flowers are called daffodils. It was like the sun was shining more brightly, more happily on the daffodils…

I flew closer and decided to take a look around the garden. The red roses were in the entrance of the garden and I could almost say they were dancing in the wind proudly. I nodded my beak to say hello but the red roses ignored me. I looked at the direction they were staring at jealously… of course the daffodils. There was a yellow daffodil between all of the white daffodils… she was singing and all the flowers and even the bugs were listening…

When the song ended, a strong wind blew through the garden. I was on top of a tree but even I got shivers.The red roses starting making jokes about how the yellow daffodil sang like a frog, but much to their dismay the yellow daffodil sang like no one else. All of the flowers in the garden were mesmerized.

I could memorize the song, I could hum all day long but what I just heard can not be imitated. I was lost for tweets.  I was back to my senses when a human started walking through the garden… He stood in front of the yellow daffodil and pulled it out of it’s roots. I couldn’t breathe, the daffodil and it’s song was burried into history. The yellow daffodil lay unconscious in his hands… he sniffed and threw it on the ground. When he left I landed beside the yellow daffodil. She was looking at me with a faint smile… even then she was so beautiful. She said, “You never forget the ones that leave early…””

Leave a Reply

