Color Me

Blue was when you left and I felt cold. Winter captured us with it’s lustrous ice. Blue skies gazing on our souls. Blue seas bringing us waves of salty liquid and washing away our worries. Blue whales far away undersea, singing with joy. Blue butterflies fluttering around like they’ll live forever. You keep your secrets like the blue peafowl.

Color me this way
Color me that way
Color me inside out
Color me upside down

Pink was when you said all the sweet things no one dared to and I blushed. Without you, my pink walls are cold and they cry until they’re white and colorless. Pink is when flamingos fly over Namibia. Pink is the skies when the sun is setting. Pink is Aerosmith’s new obsession. Pink deco umbrellas in your lemonade. Love, you taste like strawberries.

Color me this way
Color me that way
Color me inside out
Color me upside down

Green was the grass we lied on. Green lights telling us “Go”. Green eyes teaches us how to love. Green is the most peaceful color. Green tea and grandma cookies. Green pine trees with those pretty and shiny things. Green hats and crossbows. Everything is greener when you’re around.

Color me this way
Color me that way
Color me inside out
Color me upside down

Black was the night you left. Black was the soil the sky cried on. Black was the cat that crossed my path yesterday. Black is the storm that started between us. Black was the heart that wounded you. Black was the ashes of the cigarette you smoked. Black was my eyes when you made me cry. I know you hate coffee but you’re my black coffee.

Color me this way
Color me that way
Color me inside out
Color me upside down

White is the light you lit up. White is the dreams we dream. White is the walls of my room. White is the shirt you wore for me. White is the wind that’s carrying us. White is the dress I’ll wear for you.

Color me this way
Color me that way
Color me inside out
Color me upside down

Red is when I fell in love with you. Red lips of my pale face. Red roses for each day I loved you, love you and will love. Red heart shaped cards for my love. Red is the books of the clean minds. Red kisses for the sweetest person in my life.

I’ve blown my cover
in plain view I’m as plain as you
But you can’t deny my hues
Red blue chartreuse

2 thoughts on “Color Me

Leave a Reply

