Winter in Istanbul

4 February 2014

Picture yourself in an airport. You’re about to fly to a whole different country, a different culture and a different language. Can you feel the excitement?

I can be cruel at times and here’s the part where I kill the excitement:

Long time ago when the calendar showed 31 December 2010, I was at King Abdulaziz International Airport in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. I’d lie if I said I wasn’t excited, I was but along with excitement I was also frightened. Who said leaving your childhood friends behind was an easy task?

There I was with my mom about to leave the country I was born in. Sounds tough doesn’t it? I was eventually going to leave Jeddah, sooner or later, there’s no doubt about that. I was just surprised that the day I feared arrived way too fast, faster than I ever expected. Well things got worse when I landed in Istanbul.

Winter in Istanbul, it all sounds and seems lovely on the TV, but when you reach the frosty ground and feel the cold in your bones, you hate it. For those who don’t understand my intolerance towards cold weather, I’d advise them to experience a whole year in a desert. For me, that was basically my whole life. I had so many reasons to hate winter.

86 degrees to 46 degrees, need a jacket? I needed more than a jacket, I needed my life back…

Leave a Reply

